The stock systems

Moderator: F9K9

cdnuser
Crew Elite
Crew Elite

Newbie stupid question on RDS??

Post by cdnuser »

Here is a stupid question...

I have the upgraded stereo and I was wondering what RDS stands for? At first I thought (by the graphic) that it held more than one cd. Did some of the cd players also come with a cd changer?

Keep in mind I am a newbie. I have had my truck almost 2 weeks.
F9K9
Mod K Elite
Mod K Elite

Post by F9K9 »

I have a RDS 6 disk changer and All I know is that some channels are able to display the song titles, their artists and the station's call letters.
[size=75][b]"For those who have fought for it, [i][color=red]FR[/color][color=white]EE[/color][color=blue]DOM[/color][/i] has a taste that the protected will never know."
[url=http://www.naxja.org/forum/showthread.php?t=73349]GUIDE TO SEARCHING. [i] (Some of the forum software is different but, it has helped me a lot.)[/i][/url][/b]
[b]"Those who don't know history are destined to repeat it." Edmund Burke[/b][/size]
HenryJ
Admin K Elite
Admin K Elite

Post by HenryJ »

RDS=Radio Data System wikipedia

Radio Data System, or RDS, is a standard from the European Broadcasting Union for sending small amounts of digital information using conventional FM radio broadcasts. The RDS system standardises several types of information transmitted, including time and station identification. RDS is standard in Europe since the early 90s, but less so in North America.

Radio Broadcast Data System is the official name used for the U.S. version of RDS, though the "RDS" name seems to be at least as common in usage. The two standards are nearly identical, with only slight differences, mainly in which numbers are assigned to each of 31 musical and other programme formats the RBDS system can identify. RBDS was approved by the NRSC, RDS by the EBU.