running amp wire

Modified and aftermarket systems, lights, wiring, etc.

Moderator: F9K9

running amp wire

Postby urimashe » Sat Jan 14, 2012 5:48 pm

hey guys, i was gona try and run my amp wire through my firwall. couldent get my metel hanger wire to push through the rubber gromit due to the cold conditions so i gave up for the day.

what i wanted to ask you guys is, i was told that there are gromits in the back of the cab made to pass wires through, is that true for our crew cabs? if so.... anyone have a picture? or location?
urimashe
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2011 1:06 am
Location: Anchorage Alaska

Re: running amp wire

Postby HenryJ » Sat Jan 14, 2012 6:56 pm

Antenna grommet on the passenger side foot well is the easiest. A quick search will find pictures of that. None on the back of the cab that I know of. There is only the cabin pressure vent on the back.

"Speed doesn't kill, suddenly becoming stationary does." - Richard Hammond
"Speed is just a matter of Money - How fast do YOU want to go?"-Mechanic from Mad Max-
If at first you don't succeed - Don't take up Skydiving!
- ThunderII KE7CSK
User avatar
HenryJ
Admin K Elite
Admin K Elite
 
Posts: 12691
Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2002 9:14 pm
Location: Ontario, Oregon

Re: running amp wire

Postby urimashe » Sat Jan 14, 2012 7:41 pm

yea, thats the hole i was trying to push the wire through, the gromit in there right now is so cold its like plastic. so i gave up on that for the day. going to try next weekend
urimashe
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2011 1:06 am
Location: Anchorage Alaska

Re: running amp wire

Postby HenryJ » Sat Jan 14, 2012 7:44 pm

Attacking it while the engine is still warm might help? WD-40 might too.

"Speed doesn't kill, suddenly becoming stationary does." - Richard Hammond
"Speed is just a matter of Money - How fast do YOU want to go?"-Mechanic from Mad Max-
If at first you don't succeed - Don't take up Skydiving!
- ThunderII KE7CSK
User avatar
HenryJ
Admin K Elite
Admin K Elite
 
Posts: 12691
Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2002 9:14 pm
Location: Ontario, Oregon

Re: running amp wire

Postby green02crew » Sun Jan 15, 2012 11:31 pm

I found mine to be hard too, possibly with age? I was able to fit a screwdriver through and stretch it out slightly to allow the wire to fit through eaiser. Just be careful not to damage anything in the process.
2002 S-10 Crew Cab
Too Many Mods Check the Readers Rides Page
User avatar
green02crew
Crew Elite
Crew Elite
 
Posts: 863
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 7:56 pm
Location: Northern NH

Re: running amp wire

Postby urimashe » Tue Jan 17, 2012 6:02 am

thanks, if me and my buddy dont find the way to acces the rear of the cab then i will go back to that grommet and try a screwdriver then
urimashe
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2011 1:06 am
Location: Anchorage Alaska

running amp wire

Postby riceburnr2005 » Tue Jan 17, 2012 6:09 am

I routed mine through the passenger fender through a hole that's behind the glove box against the a pillar. Kinda hard to describe lol..


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
U.S. Marines
2003 CC LS, indigo blue, Spectre Cold Air, OBX throttle body spacer, descreened MAF, hunter bull bar, BAJA off road lights, 15x7 Crager soft 8 wheels, 31x10.50x15 Goodyear Wrangler Authority tires, cranked TB's, Daystar 2 inch shackles, 2" PA body lift, 1.5 inch spacers in the rear, Access TonnoSport Tonneau cover, reese hitch, carbon fiber front chevy badge, Lund bug deflector, roof rack from a blazer, Kenwood CD player, JVC 6 1/2 speakers.
User avatar
riceburnr2005
Crew Elite
Crew Elite
 
Posts: 179
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2010 9:02 pm
Location: MCAS Cherry Point, NC

Re: running amp wire

Postby urimashe » Tue Jan 24, 2012 2:07 am

hey guys, just a update, i got the wire through the firewall, didnt want to wait for my freinds help to try and find somthing through the back. after that i isntalled my amp and drilled a hole for the ground and got that all screwed down.
i bought a Bazooka for behind my seat after reading some of the posts here about subs, i got it becouse i was looking for somthing for bass, i upgraded my speakers but that wasent enough i was missing out on the bass.
i would like to say that getting the bazooka was a great idea, it sounds amazing back there, it is loud, it is sound loud, not vibration loud, i like vibration but the sound quality from this tube is amazing and i am happy with it and highly recommend it for people looking for somthing to compleate there soundsystem, even if there looking for somthing temporary untell they can afford somthing bigger. anyways, thats my two cents!
urimashe
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2011 1:06 am
Location: Anchorage Alaska

running amp wire

Postby riceburnr2005 » Tue Jan 24, 2012 2:30 am

What size bazooka did u get? What kind of amp?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
U.S. Marines
2003 CC LS, indigo blue, Spectre Cold Air, OBX throttle body spacer, descreened MAF, hunter bull bar, BAJA off road lights, 15x7 Crager soft 8 wheels, 31x10.50x15 Goodyear Wrangler Authority tires, cranked TB's, Daystar 2 inch shackles, 2" PA body lift, 1.5 inch spacers in the rear, Access TonnoSport Tonneau cover, reese hitch, carbon fiber front chevy badge, Lund bug deflector, roof rack from a blazer, Kenwood CD player, JVC 6 1/2 speakers.
User avatar
riceburnr2005
Crew Elite
Crew Elite
 
Posts: 179
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2010 9:02 pm
Location: MCAS Cherry Point, NC

Re: running amp wire

Postby urimashe » Wed Jan 25, 2012 3:11 am

250 w class d amp 6 inch bazooka
urimashe
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2011 1:06 am
Location: Anchorage Alaska


Return to Electrical Modifications / Audio / Video / Lighting



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest