cylinder 1 misfire *solved (bent valve)

Anything related to the stock drivetrain, engine, transmission, axles, wheels...

Moderator: F9K9

2002 Crew

cylinder 1 misfire *solved (bent valve)

Post by 2002 Crew »

Over the past year I have had to replace quite a few things on this 4.3. It has 155,000 miles on it now. I was a professional mechanic for many years so I do the work myself. The distribtor went out so I put a new distributor, cap, and rotor. Ended up with a defective cap and had to replace it again. I did plugs and wires at that time. Then the fuel injection spyder had to be replaced about 11 months ago so I did that and a new fuel filter at the same time. Not to mention the new fuel pump and sending unit assembly that had been done the year before. Well now I have a misfire on the number 1 cylinder. It is only really noticable at idle. I was at the shop I used to work at and my buddy there suggested switching the #1 injector with one of the others and see if the misfire moved with the switch. Well I did it and the misfire stayed on #1. The only thing I can think of is a burned valve maybe. Compression is around 150lbs. Any suggestions would be great.
HenryJ
Admin K Elite
Admin K Elite

Re: cylinder 1 misfire

Post by HenryJ »

Did you install the upgrade spider assembly?
Does it change when you disconnect the #1 wire while the engine is running?

Never assume new means good. Cap -rotor- plugs- wires- etc are still suspect.

"Speed doesn't kill, suddenly becoming stationary does." - Richard Hammond
"Speed is just a matter of Money - How fast do YOU want to go?"-Mechanic from Mad Max-
If at first you don't succeed - Don't take up Skydiving!
- ThunderII KE7CSK
2002 Crew

Post by 2002 Crew »