Rear wheel bearing diagnosis

Anything related to the stock drivetrain, engine, transmission, axles, wheels...

Moderator: F9K9

bbgot
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Rear wheel bearing diagnosis

Post by bbgot »

When I bought my 02 CC a couple months back, the passenger side rear axle seal was leaking, so I replaced it. It held and didn't leak until last weekend when I put about 600+ miles on the truck. The leak was small and it only leaked when I drove for extended periods of time. When the truck sits, there is no leakage.

I checked the axle vent and made sure it wasn't plugged and forcing oil out of the seal and replaced the seal again this week. I just drove 300 miles for work today and its leaking again!

The axle shaft and bearings looked fine and there is no noise or vibration while driving. Could the bearings just be worn and allowing the axle to move a bit while driving? How do I check for this?

On a positive note, I'm now a pro at taking out the axle shafts (less than 15 minutes last time)!
HenryJ
Admin K Elite
Admin K Elite

Re: Rear wheel bearing diagnosis

Post by HenryJ »

bbgot wrote: Could the bearings just be worn and allowing the axle to move a bit while driving? How do I check for this?
Jack up the rear axle and support it on stands. Use a bar to lift the tire. How much upward movement is there? Enough to exceed the range of flex in the seal and allow it to leak?

"Speed doesn't kill, suddenly becoming stationary does." - Richard Hammond
"Speed is just a matter of Money - How fast do YOU want to go?"-Mechanic from Mad Max-
If at first you don't succeed - Don't take up Skydiving!
- ThunderII KE7CSK
ckholloway
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Post by ckholloway »

Also make sure you are using a good seal. We all know you can buy seals on the cheap but that doesn't mean they work right. National, timken, CR, or original equipment GM. These are the products should be using.

Sent from my SGH-T959 using Tapatalk
bbgot
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Post by bbgot »