Wheel Spacers?????

Fitting oversize tires, raising and lowering, suspension modifications...

Moderator: F9K9

williamcstonejr
Crew Elite
Crew Elite

Wheel Spacers?????

Post by williamcstonejr »

Wheel Spacers????? I used to be an automotive mechanic until I got sick off being greasy all the time. Got fed up and went into another line of work but I have to say that wheel spacers are not a very safe way to go for the look you want. I know it is the cheap way to go but they are notorious for coming loose even when they are torque properly and most that you do find do not have hardened studs and they do tend to snap a stud or two before anyone notices they have a problem. A new set of rims with the offset you want is the way to go in my opinion. I have four kids and I would never put them in a car with wheel spacers. The only time I was ever willing to put spacers on a customers small truck was by modifying them in my shop by removing the old studs from the vehicle and installing a new set of 1 ton dually studs from the dealership and machining new holes in the spacers for a snug fit and bolting the wheels directly to the new studs as if from the factory. I did have to cut the ends off of the studs to shorten them but that was no big deal. If someone has come out with a new and improved spacer design let me know because I have only had my truck for a month and by the way it looks to me that the rear wheels set in about an inch compared to the front and it bugs me every time I look at it. If someone does not agree, please tell me why. Things may have changed in the last ten years since I stopped turning wrenches for a living.
HenryJ
Admin K Elite
Admin K Elite

Post by HenryJ »

Do some reading. There are plenty of good topics here on Wheel adapters.
Wheel spacers did get a bad name and I do not think that they are a good way to go. Wheel adapters are a little different matter.

"Speed doesn't kill, suddenly becoming stationary does." - Richard Hammond