Extending rear end breathing vent or relocating axle vent

This is the place for all those mods

Moderator: F9K9

mjmcdowell
Crew Elite
Crew Elite

Extending rear end breathing vent or relocating axle vent

Post by mjmcdowell »

Ok......anybody done this? If so please advise, I don't get in deep water,(top of tires w/stock suspension/tire size is as deep as I would attempt) only once in a while fording a creek on the way to a favorite campsite and I would like to if easly done, extend the vent, just to be safer usually I just change the fluids after this type of fording. stay safe, mjmcdowell
malkavian
Crew Elite
Crew Elite

Post by malkavian »

I went and bought some hose the same diameter as the stock on and ran it from the rear diff all the way up between the cab and the bed. I have also see the expandalbe type that are fully enclosed and just clamp over the nipple on the housing so you dont have to run the hose. I have never used one of those before.
[size=75]2006 Silvarado with 5.3 tow haul package, and 1993 jeep grand cherokee starting the build on it this summer.[/size]
SONOMA915
Crew Elite
Crew Elite

Post by SONOMA915 »

malkavian wrote:I went and bought some hose the same diameter as the stock on and ran it from the rear diff all the way up between the cab and the bed.
Watch out for rain water getting in the diff, there is a tech bulliten about that.
[size=75]2004 GMC Sonoma ZR5 (Sold)
2005 Toyota Tacoma[/size]
malkavian
Crew Elite
Crew Elite

Post by malkavian »

well the end of the hose is actually loops over into a small plastic jar about a inch in diameter and i drilled a hole in the bottom of it and put a small oiled filter from a rc car. . So water wont get in unless I get it within 2 inches of the top of the bed.

The front I ran up into the engine comartment and did the same thing with a plastic bottle there. Got the idea from petersons off road.