Plumbing Expertise Needed.

Everything else! new member introductions, pics, announcements, news..

Moderator: F9K9

F9K9
Mod K Elite
Mod K Elite

Plumbing Expertise Needed.

Post by F9K9 »

First off I have zero plumbing knowledge other than to replace a kitchen sink faucet one time :roll:

I have a bad water leak on my side of the underground water meter. I know that the leak is in the metal portion of the pipe that is connected to the meter. I had the plastic line replaced a few years back so, I know that there is a metal to plastic connection that can be exposed with more digging.

I have what looks like a 3/4" adapter (looks like it is also a valve) that goes down to a short metal pipe maybe 1/2" dia, 2" long. Then I have another possible valve and a 1/2" pipe attached to it.

What I need to know is what kind of connection would be between the metal and plastic. Is it some sort of set up like the connections of a sink drain? For now I can turn on the water with the water company's shut off valve and at least shower and fill up water containers before I shut it back off. The plumbing supply closes in 4 1/2 hrs and I would hate to get it apart and not be able to get the parts until monday.

BTW, I haven't been able to find a plumber to work on a saturday.
[size=75][b]"For those who have fought for it, [i][color=red]FR[/color][color=white]EE[/color][color=blue]DOM[/color][/i] has a taste that the protected will never know."
[url=http://www.naxja.org/forum/showthread.php?t=73349]GUIDE TO SEARCHING. [i] (Some of the forum software is different but, it has helped me a lot.)[/i][/url][/b]
[b]"Those who don't know history are destined to repeat it." Edmund Burke[/b][/size]
04crewvt
Crew K Elite
Crew K Elite

Post by 04crewvt »